End of the Year Playlist.

The #EdBeat chat on twitter is not one I really participate in, but I’ve been kind of watching it from the sidelines, and this week’s questions are pretty much right up my alley, playlists for the end of the school year, so I’m in, even thought I’m late.  Someday I’ll get into a twitter chat live.

I love making playlists for various occasions – I have one I made at the start of 2016 to set the tone for my year, I made a playlist of all my students’ “theme songs” at the start of this school year, I have one from college that my roommate and I would use for one song dance party study breaks, I have one of chill music for when I’m reading or working, and I even have one for when I just need to be emotional about Harry Potter again.

So I was READY to make an end of the school year playlist.  It ended up being a bizarre mix of motivational songs to help push through the last days before summer, and sappy sentimental songs about how much I’ll miss my graduating seniors and this particular group of students.

You’ll probably be able to guess some of my favorite artists from this…

The Playlist, if you want to listen, is here.

Bring it all Back – S Club 7: don’t stop, never give up / hold your head high and reach the top / let the world see what you have got / bring it all back to you

Airplanes – 5 Seconds of Summer: I don’t ever wanna wait for this / I know that I was made for this / I won’t fade into dark

Back and Forth – State Champs: we can still be anything / I want the world to set you free / I hope your tears are drying on me / cause now I’m the person I wanna be

Little Me – Little Mix: you gotta speak up / you gotta shout out / and know that right here, right now / you can be beautiful, wonderful / anything you wanna be

See Me Now – Little Mix: they said I couldn’t, they told me that I wouldn’t / but if they could see me now / they’d see I’m something, that I’m not scared of nothing / and the world will hear me shout

Wings – Little Mix: cause wings are made to fly / and we don’t let nobody bring us down / no matter what you say – it won’t hurt me

Ain’t Got Time – M.O: I ain’t got time to worry about people / that don’t worry about me / I ain’t got time to listen to people / that don’t listen to me / I ain’t got time to care about people / that don’t care about me

(Un)Lost – The Maine: but I know I’ll take the leap / if it is worth the fall

Forget Me Not – Marianas Trench: but I wanted you to know / I still need you my friend … I’ll be your / forget me not

While We’re Young – Marianas Trench: wonder why does it / hurt to try when the / last goodbye is never / what we’re here for

Graduation (Friends Forever) – Vitamin C: as we go on / we remember / all the times we / had together / and as our lives change / come whatever / we will still be / friends forever

Drag Me Down – One Direction: all my life / you stood by me / when no one else was ever behind me / all these lights / they can’t blind me / with your love, nobody can drag me down

Girl Almighty – One Direction: let’s pray we stay young / stay made of lightning

Don’t Forget Where You Belong – One Direction: don’t forget where you belong / home / if you ever feel alone, don’t / you are never on your own

Outer Space / Carry On – 5 Seconds of Summer: the darkest night never felt so bright with you by my side … carry on, outlast the ignorance / moving on, survive the innocence / won’t be long / you know it’s gonna get better

In a World Like This – Backstreet Boys: in a world like this where some back down / I know we’re gonna make it … in a world like this where people fall apart / in a time like this where nothing comes from the heart / in a world like this / I got you

Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of) – Backstreet Boys: you gotta stand for something / even if you stand alone, don’t be afraid / it’s gonna be alright … when sunlight is fading / the world will be waiting for you / just show ’em what you’re made of

The Show Goes On – Lupe Fiasco: five in the air for the teacher not scared / to tell those kids … the world is theirs!

A Pensieve Full of Unrequited Love – the Mudbloods: I wish you peace and love and happiness in everything you do

Never Let it Die – Watsky: you might think that you’re ruined / you might think you’re defeated / if you love what you’re doing / you’ve already succeeded … so if you got a flame that’s blazing hot within / take a deep breath and feed it oxygen

Author: missmastalio

Math teacher at an alternative high school. Living the best life.

Leave a Reply

