Summer 2016!

 

When you’re a teacher, one of the first things people ask you during the summer months is if you’ve gotten a second job for the summer. Then, when you say you haven’t, they make some comment about all your free time and how nice it must be, a thinly veiled reference to how lazy they think you are. (Or maybe that’s just my mom…)

I am very much an introvert, and as such, my summers are a very much needed time for me to recharge mentally so that I have the appropriate amounts of energy for all of the amazing student and staff interactions during the school year. Not that I haven’t done anything school related all summer – there’s been a lot of productivity too.  But, in addition to revisiting the entire Algebra II curriculum in preparation for teaching it for the first time, keeping up every once in awhile on blog posts and teacher twitter, coming up with new ideas for my classroom, helping prioritize standards/write assessments for Algebra I, and writing/filming a back to school video for Mid City (coming soon!)…I’ve spent a lot of time doing awesome things that I love this summer.

I’ve read 20 books, including being very close to finishing my reread of my childhood favorite series Redwall (I have two books left!) and the new Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (I loved it, please come talk to me about it for extended periods of time if you’ve read it as well!).

I’ve watched more soccer matches than most people probably do in their lives – pretty much all of the Euro 2016 and Copa America Centenario. I’ve spent the last week glued to all-day Olympic coverage because I LOVE THE OLYMPICS.

One of my best friends, Molly, got married in June and our entire friend group except our friend Sam (who had an internship in NYC this summer, but we FaceTimed him into the ceremony) was back together for the wedding weekend. These are my favorite people in the entire world and it was such a good weekend. My friend Morgan designed our very own snapchat geofilters for the reception venue and we ordered 53 crab rangoons at our favorite restaurant and two of my best friends are now married and I got like 10,000 steps on my Fitbit from dancing alone.

In summer 2012, I did math research at Illinois State University with some incredible future math teachers – we had a reunion this summer since Joel was doing the research program again as a practicing teacher and picked back up with a weekend filled with all of our same terrible inside jokes and talking about math and teaching and life. And playing Pokemon Go. A lot.

I spent a lot of time hanging out with my nephew and sister – I often got calls that were just Elijah saying “Yolo! Come over!” (yes, my nephew calls me Yolo.) He’s also obsessed with my cat, so he came to visit Jordy a lot. I went to a wedding with my mom, and had some good friend times with Mid City coworkers who are also great friends.

I took a road trip to Nashville, TN to visit my friend Lari.  We went to the zoo, where I got to PET A KANGAROO, and road tripped down to Birmingham, AL (my first time in the state) to see 5 Seconds of Summer and get caught in a surprise rainstorm. I should mention that I’ve seen 5 Seconds of Summer four times this summer…and am seeing them one more time before students officially start back. They’re my favorite band, okay? Nashville is a lovely city and we ate lots of good food and went for walks by the river and I got to visit a friend from high school who also lives down there.

It’s been a good summer, but with like 5 days to go before teachers report back, and after spending some time in the building last week prepping our back to school video and seeing staff again…I’m ready. I’m ready to see students, and coworkers, and get back to the job I love. There’s been a few emails going around our staff with awesome new ideas for the year, and some changes to our building organization and staff, and it’s gonna be awesome.

I hope everyone has had a great summer as well and is ready to come back with new ideas to share and to make new memories, learn new things and change lives!!!!! I’d love to see some summer wrapup posts from other people, too 🙂

 

Author: missmastalio

Math teacher at an alternative high school. Living the best life.

Leave a Reply

