Seek Justice. Love Mercy.

A lot is going on in our world right now.

It kind of feels like what we have been debating recently is the relative worth of different types of human beings. If you’ve read my blog before, you know that perhaps my strongest belief is that we are all worth the same. I read the news and see things that are happening, and then I walk into my classroom and see my students.

 

I love my students. Some days, it feels as though the love that I have for them is causing me physical pain with how it wants to leap out of my chest and take over. It’s very hard to watch things happen that feel threatening to their abilities to be fully themselves. I walk into my classroom and want to wrap all of them up in a big hug and never let them leave – keep them in the safe space within our school walls that we have created together.

I can’t. I can’t keep them in this safe bubble that we’ve built. They have to go out into the world, and every day our staff of teachers and case managers and counselors try to build their resilience, their intelligence, their resourcefulness, their courage, and their sense of self so that they can leave our school and find success.

The news lately has been making me feel sort of hopeless. We can call our representatives, we can attend protests, share social media posts supporting the equality that we want, but then it feels like there’s nothing else we can do but watch it happen. Watch as decisions are made that will take away the freedoms and rights of certain types of humans.

“Courageous” by Casting Crowns came on the radio as I drove home from church on Sunday. The end of the song has a refrain that comes from Micah 6:8, phrased in the song as:

Seek Justice.

Love Mercy.

Walk Humbly with your God.

 

Those words struck me hard. I haven’t been able to get the song out of my head all week. No matter how hopeless a fight seems, we are called to seek justice. To love mercy. To walk humbly.

Teaching is its own form of this. Every day in our classrooms, we are fighting to create a future made up of compassionate, intelligent, resilient and resourceful humans. We are showing our students the importance of seeking justice, of standing up for what is right. Of loving every person you encounter, no matter their actions towards you. Of giving every life the same value.

To all the teachers who have been weary lately: you are heroes. You are fighting the good fight and striving to do what’s right, and what you are doing still matters. It’s important. You’re making a difference. Keep going.

Author: missmastalio

Math teacher at an alternative high school. Living the best life.

Leave a Reply

