Blurb Yourself.

This idea came from 4 o’Clock Faculty‘s suggestion, and the motivation to actually do it came from a discussion with Megan about giving yourself more credit for things you accomplish. Mid summer seems like a good time for reflection, so I’m dusting off this idea and the scribbled notes that have been sitting on my dining room table for a month.

love reading. I just finished my 10th book of the summer, and we’re less than halfway through. It’s been fun to imagine what people would say as blurbs on the back cover of a book about me – what would I want them to say, and what would actually come out of their mouths after reading my story?

The collection of blurbs I’ve come up with are a mix of the two – things I would hope people would say about me, and a few things that people have actually said about me that have really touched me and made me proud of what I’m doing. I won’t tell you which is which.

So, here is the back cover of the book about me – I hope you would want to read it:

“Miss Mastalio won’t accept your giving up. She’ll just keep bugging you and telling you that you can until you just do it.” – student

“Liz loves things with her whole heart. I wish I could find something I loved as much as she loves many things.” – friend

“She loves her job. How do I love my job as much as she does? Teaching is hard.” – friend

“Miss Mastalio always has time for you, whether you need math help or just someone to listen to you. She says it’s part of her job, but not all teachers do that.” – student

“It seems like Liz has found her calling.” – former professor

“If you ask her a question she will always give you an answer – even if she doesn’t know, she will find out or help you find out.” – student

Author: missmastalio

Math teacher at an alternative high school. Living the best life.

Leave a comment